

Council

Wednesday 6 November 2024 2.00 p.m.



WELCOME TO TODAY'S MEETING

GUIDANCE FOR THE PUBLIC

The Council is composed of 59 Councillors, who are democratically accountable to the residents of their ward.

The Council Meeting is chaired by the Mayor, who will ensure that its business can be carried out efficiently and with regard to respecting the rights and responsibilities of Councillors and the interests of the community. The Mayor is the Borough's first citizen and is treated with respect by the whole Council, as should visitors and member of the public.

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints its Leader, Mayor and Deputy Mayor and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its committees.

Copies of the agenda and reports are available on the Council's website at www.rotherham.gov.uk. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain private information and these will be marked accordingly on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings. A member of the public may ask one general question in person which must be received in writing to the Chief Executive by 10.00 a.m. on the Friday preceding a Council meeting on the following Wednesday and must not exceed sixty words in length. Questions can be emailed to governance@rotherham.gov.uk

Council meetings are recorded and streamed live or subsequently uploaded to the Council's website. At the start of the meeting the Mayor will confirm if the meeting is being filmed. You would need to confirm your wish not to be filmed to Democratic Services. Recording of the meeting by members of the public is also allowed.

Council meetings are open to the public, but occasionally the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this occurs you will be asked to leave.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets, one of which is designated disabled with full wheelchair access, with full lift access to all floors. Induction loop facilities are also available in the Council Chamber, John Smith Room and Committee Rooms 1 and 2.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained via the ramp at the main entrance to the Town Hall.

If you have any queries on this agenda, please contact:-

Contact:- Emma Hill, Head of Democratic Services

governance@rotherham.gov.uk

Date of Publication:- 29 October 2024

COUNCIL

Wednesday 6 November 2024 at 2.00 p.m.

THE MAYOR (Councillor Sheila Cowen) **DEPUTY MAYOR (Councillor Rukhsana Ismail)**

CHIEF EXECUTIVE (Sharon Kemp OBE)

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

ANSTON AND WOODSETTS HELLABY AND MALTBY WEST ROTHERHAM WEST

BAUM-DIXON, Timothy J. BALL, Simon A. JONES, lan P. BLACKHAM, John M. STABLES, Lynda J. KEENAN, Eve

TARMEY, Drew S. MCKIERNAN, Cameron D.P.

ASTON AND TODWICK HOOBER SITWELL

BRENT, Rajmund E. **BOWER**, Michael A. ALLEN. Sarah A. **BACON**, Joshua LELLIOTT, Denise FISHER, David F. WILLIAMS, John THORP, Paul S.

SWINTON ROCKINGHAM AUGHTON AND SWALLOWNEST KEPPEL

PITCHLEY, Lyndsay **CURRIE**, Simon MONK, Gina

TAYLOR, Robert P. **FOSTER, Carole** READ, Chris GARNETT, Gillian S.

BOSTON CASTLE KILNHURST AND SWINTON (EAST) THURCROFT & WICKERSLEY

CUSWORTH, Victoria ALAM, Saghir COLLINGHAM, Zachary A. HARPER, Nigel HUSSAIN, Ashiq COLLINGHAM, Thomas R. YASSEEN, Taiba K.

BRAMLEY AND RAVENFIELD MALTBY EAST WALES

DUNCAN, Elizabeth J. SUTTON, Donna E. **BECK, Dominic E. REYNOLDS, Gregory** TINSLEY, Adam J. HAVARD, Marnie A.

BRINSWORTH RAWMARSH EAST WATH

CARTER, Adam J. HUGHES, Rachel E.M. COWEN, Sheila A. CARTER, Charlotte R. SHEPPARD, David JACKSON, David R.

WICKERSLEY NORTH DALTON AND THRYBERGH RAWMARSH WEST

BENNETT-SYLVESTER, Michael D.P.

BAKER-ROGERS, Joanna

KNIGHT, Stuart

RYALLS, Jodie STEELE, Brian MARSHALL, Lynda MAULT, James J.

DINNINGTON ROTHER VALE

CLARKE, Amanda M. ADAIR, Terry **CASTLEDINE-DACK, Sophie BAGGALEY**, Jamie

GREASBROUGH ROTHERHAM EAST

HALL, Julia

BERESFORD, Linda J. AHMED, Angham S.T. **ELLIOTT, Robert W.** ISMAIL, Rukhsana B.

RASHID, Haroon

Council Meeting Agenda

Time and Date:-

Wednesday 6 November 2024 at 2.00 p.m.

Venue:-

Town Hall, The Crofts, Moorgate Street, Rotherham. S60 2TH

1. Announcements

To consider any announcements by the Mayor in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 3(2)(ii).

2. Apologies for Absence

To receive the apologies of any Member who is unable to attend the meeting.

3. Minutes of the previous Council Meeting (Pages 7 - 63)

To receive the record of proceedings of the ordinary meeting of the Council held on 11 September 2024 and to approve the accuracy thereof.

4. Petitions (Pages 65 - 69)

To report on any petitions received by the Council and receive statements in support of petitions in accordance with Petitions Scheme and Council Procedure Rule 13.

5. Declarations of Interest

To invite Councillors to declare any disclosable pecuniary interests or personal interests they may have in any matter which is to be considered at this meeting, to confirm the nature of those interests and whether they intend to leave the meeting for the consideration of the item.

6. Public Questions

To receive questions from members of the public who may wish to ask a general question of the Mayor, Cabinet Member or the Chairman of a Committee in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 12.

7. Exclusion of the Press and Public

Should it be necessary, in the opinion of the Mayor, to consider excluding the press and public from the meeting in relation to any items of urgent business on the grounds that private information is likely to be divulged.

8. Leader of the Council's Statement

To receive a statement from the Leader of the Council in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 9.

9. Minutes of the Cabinet Meeting (Pages 71 - 108)

To note the minutes of the Cabinet Meeting held on 16 September and 14 October 2024.

10. Cabinet's Response to the Improving Places Select Commission Scrutiny Review - Nature Recovery (Pages 109 - 147)

To note the recommendation from Cabinet regarding their response to the scrutiny review recommendations on Nature Recovery.

11. Notice of Motion - A Bad Start from the New Labour Government (Pages 149 - 150)

To be moved by Councillor A Carter and seconded by Councillor Tarmey.

12. Notice of Motion - Remembering All Those Who Have Served and Sacrificed for Our Country (Page 151)

To be moved by Councillor Tarmey and seconded by Councillor C Carter.

13. Audit Committee (Pages 153 - 161)

To note receipt of the Audit Committee minutes.

14. Health and Wellbeing Board (Pages 163 - 187)

To note receipt of the Health and Wellbeing Board minutes.

15. Licensing Board Sub-Committee and Licensing Sub-Committee (Pages 189 - 201)

To note receipt of the Licensing Board Sub-Committee and Licensing Sub-Committee minutes.

16. Planning Board (Pages 203 - 207)

To note receipt of the Planning Board minutes.

17. Standards and Ethics Committee (Pages 209 - 212)

To note receipt of the Standards and Ethics Committee meetings.

18. Members' Questions to Designated Spokespersons

To put questions, if any, to the designated Members on the discharge of functions of the South Yorkshire Police and Crime Panel, South Yorkshire Fire

and Rescue Authority, South Yorkshire Mayoral Combined Authority and South Yorkshire Pensions Authority, in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 11(5).

19. Members' Questions to Cabinet Members and Chairpersons

To put questions, if any, to Cabinet Members and Committee Chairpersons (or their representatives) under Council Procedure Rules 11(1) and 11(3).

20. Urgent Items

Any other public items which the Mayor determines are urgent.

SHARON KEMP OBE,

Chief Executive.

The next meeting of the Council will be on 15 January 2025 at 2.00 p.m.